Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Goodness of People June 8, 2013


I have experienced my share of human cruelty in my life. I have experienced things I would not wish on my worst enemy. I’ve watched others hurt my daughter over and over again. Yet, somehow, I still believe in the basic goodness of most people. I believe that most humans just want to find love and happiness. Sometimes we make mistakes and do stupid things in the pursuit of that happiness, but ultimately humans are good.

I believe in the goodness of people, despite what I have been through.

 

4 Responses to “Goodness of People”

  1. chimcheey Says:

    What about people that go out of their way to do things that they know will bother or annoy you (kinda like bullies)? I’ve tried to think that all people are all good to some extent…but I it just doesn’t make sense to me and I can’t see anything good in such actions.

    • rainey Says:

      I know what you mean; it is hard to find good in ALL people. But I do believe some people act the way they do because they were taught to behave in that manner. Also I have found that people who are in pain often lash out at others. We need to look at them and try to see the root cause of the pain. It doesn’t excuse bad behavior, but I believe that when someone takes the time to see beyond the bullying they can help that person become a better person.
      I also do believe that some people have a level of evil in them that the goodness is long gone. I do not think there are many people like that, though. Most of us are just making the best choices we can.

  2. chimcheey Says:

    That’s a good point, made me think a bit. It’s difficult to look past people’s negative actions towards you; but then again, you never know what everyone is going through in their own life. I’ll try to not let it bother me as much it currently does, since I know they haven’t always been this bad…instead I’ll see if I can do anything to help them out, like you suggested. Thanks

  3. ksbeth Says:

    i agree with you completely. i believe that most people are good and that there are many less who are not and each does what they do to get through life. i have to believe in the good within them in order for me to get through life.


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

