Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

I Saw A Moment in Life April 7, 2013


I saw a small child unknowingly

drop a beloved stuffed dog

as his mother pushed the stroller

hurriedly, distractedly,

throughout the store.

I saw an elderly man

grunting, with great effort,

stoop to retrieve the ragged mutt

calling out in a deep, trembling voice

unheard and overlooked.

I saw the elderly gentleman

clutching the symbol of comfort

lurching with a slow

and painful gait,

follow the sound of crying.

I saw the distraught mother

desperately searching for a beloved toy

maternally knowing the significance

of the ‘Made in China’  item

to her much-loved child.

I saw the old man gasping for breath

quietly reach out a shaking hand

silencing the child with the gift

the mother’s face filling with relief

as her child felt safe once more.

I saw time stand still

and as a small incident in life

unfolded before me, I realized

there is a goodness in all

the little moments of life.

 

2 Responses to “I Saw A Moment in Life”

  1. Alastair Says:

    All the while there are people like this, life is worth living

  2. sakuraandme Says:

    I loved this so much. Great post. Hugs Paula xx


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

