Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Enjoy the Moment January 25, 2013


The weather is bitterly cold and I am loving it. I am home early from work and already huddled on the couch in my comfy clothes wrapped in a blanket. My “grandpups” are here to visit, as is my youngest daughter, S. She is watching a movie with her dad, and I am just enjoying the moment.

I’m trying to do more of that: enjoying the moment. I live so much inside my own head that it is hard sometimes to just be “present” in the here and now. I miss all the little joys of life when I’m not focused on the moment. Today I noticed how fresh the cold air felt and smelled. The smile of a coworker that I felt in my heart. The love radiating from my dog when he gazes into my eyes first thing in the morning. The warmth and taste of the first sip of coffee in the morning. I noticed the comforting feel of the keys beneath my fingers as I type reports (or blogs).  These little, insignificant moments are what make up life.

A coworker did something unexpected  today. She walked into my office, threw her arms around me, and gave me a big hug. It felt really nice. I laughed and asked her who was that for, me or her? She laughed and said, “Both.” It was so sweet, and after the way I have felt lately, it made my day. You never know what you might do or say that will mean the world to someone else.

 

6 Responses to “Enjoy the Moment”

  1. backonmyown Says:

    I, too, have trouble staying in the moment. I have to constantly remind myself that now is all I have.

    I love unexpected hugs. They make for some special moments.

  2. MBC Says:

    Acuity is very fleeting right now. I think it makes the moments immersed in it even more brilliant.


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

