Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Notice the Beauty to Survive the Challenges December 31, 2012


Well, here it is: New Year‘s Eve. Time to reflect on the year behind me and make well-meaning resolution that will supposedly bring me happiness and a better tomorrow.

Sorry. I can’t do it. Even though I am generally an optimistic person,  my personal year of 2012 was difficult and overwhelming. So, I will not sit here and ponder what has already been; most is too painful to see all at once. I have to view the hard parts a little at a time because the big picture is just too much.

2013: what will you hold? What delights, what beauties will you bring? What struggles will I face? My one wish is to remember to focus on the beauty of the little things in life. I want to see the sunlight glinting off of the water. I want to inhale the smell of snow falling in the silent forest. I vow to see the joy on a child’s face while holding a puppy. I intend to revel in the warmth of sunlight on my face.

My goal for 2013? Become more aware and appreciative of the joys and beauties in life. Here’s wishing that you, too will appreciate the sun on your face and the smell of the rain and the beauty of a bloom. It may be just enough to help you through your own personal challenges.

Violet Beauty

 

13 Responses to “Notice the Beauty to Survive the Challenges”

  1. One foot after another…

  2. Anita S Says:

    Great inspiration for the new year! I will remind myself to notice the small joys. And thank you for your blog; this is not the first time it has inspired me this year!

  3. MBC Says:

    Rainey, finding your blog is one of the few things I want to remember about 2012. Here’s to an awesome path ahead!

    • rainey Says:

      That is so very kind of you. We are all in this together, my friend. I don’t know what I would do without you! I’m raising my glass in a “CHEERS” to you; let’s work to make 2013 worth living! xoxo, Rainey

  4. H. Stern Says:

    Let’s all hope that 2013 allows us to do all the things that make us happy, and move on from all the difficulties we faced this year.

  5. oh, the warm sun of the Spring on your face and the cleaning spring rains followed by the flowers… isn’t it great?

    I can’t take the summer sun but any other time of the year, I welcome it.

    Hope 2013 is a kind year for you and your family!


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

