Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Hope On a New Day December 29, 2012


Today is a beautiful day. Nothing has changed except perhaps my attitude. Getting away with my camera just brings me such peace. It helps my mind focus on the little details in the world that I forget about when I am embracing the constant crisis in my life. It reminds me of the small things that make life wonderful. Breathing in the crisp winter air as I notice how the sunlight filters through the bare branches of the trees. Noticing the shadows cast across the worn wood of an old abandoned house. Gazing at the rusting train tracks as they converge on the far horizon.

My mind is so often trapped in survival mode that the stress I feel can be overwhelming. I have no respite from the constant worry. I have no one who truly understands the unique position I am in; but I guess we could all say that. My hope lies in writing, taking photos,listening to music, and my art (when I can focus on it…it’s been a year now since I walked in my studio.) So here I am, dear reader….even if no one reads, it feels great to write.

Blue Tangled Night

 

9 Responses to “Hope On a New Day”

  1. That’s a beautiful picture of the moon. I’d love to know what camera you use to take such a picture at night, And I am glad you are having a day of peace. It is so rare for us. Enjoy.

    • rainey Says:

      Thank you! My camera is nothing fancy; it is a Nikon Coolpix L100. I bought it about 2 years ago because I was going on a motorcycle trip to Canada and I wanted a camera with a good, built-in zoom. You can see all of my pictures on my photo blog Rainey’s View. πŸ™‚

  2. MBC Says:

    Rainey, people do read! I love the pics. Must be east coast. The old buildings make me think southern. Its great to see nice pics from different areas. Hope your weekend shines like the brightest stars!

    • rainey Says:

      Aw, thanks; and yes, it is east coast. I prefer mountains and travel there as often as possible. You are such a kind-hearted person and I feel such a connection with you. I am so glad we are blogging friends! πŸ™‚ Hugs, ~Rainey

      • MBC Says:

        Gotta remember, I’m your blogging asshole friend!
        Being in the PacNW, most buildings dont stay around to be photographed. I have a love/hate relationship with the place, but cannot deny the incredible beauty of it.

  3. What a wonderful picture and I wish you many more days with peace πŸ™‚

  4. backonmyown Says:

    That’s an amazing photo. Beautiful beyond words.


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

