Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Survivor November 26, 2012


Child sexual abuse effects and INFECTS too many lives. It changes the normal path of thinking when a child has to deal with the conflicting feelings that arise.

I was abused more than once. I suffered the guilt, the pain, the shame. I still feel it when it rises up in the middle of the night and threatens to choke me. It is decades later, and I still feel it.

But I survived. I am still here, and I am fighting.

Why? Because after all of this time, I am slowly beginning to think I might be worth it.

A Self-Portrait

 

7 Responses to “Survivor”

  1. backonmyown Says:

    You are worthy, Rainey. Never doubt it. You are worthy!

  2. MBC Says:

    I cannot imagine the incredible emotions you, or anyone who have had that happen to them, have had to deal with. My support goes out to you. I question my self worth and reason for being daily. Stories like these only add to my frustration at a human kind that could do such acts. Respect for our fellow person is what is being lost.

    Sorry for the depressing reply. I just get aggrivated. I can’t give you self worth, but your worth a ton to me!…MBC

  3. purpleowltree1234 Says:

    Wow, this is so powerful Rainey. It gave me goosebumps. I’m feeling awfully effected and infected by the child sexual abuse in my past too, right now. It is powerful that you have a voice. You help me feel less alone.
    Love from your friend Rach.

  4. Dorothy Says:

    You are most certainly worthy. Try not to forget it. (Hugs)

  5. I’ve seen that infection way too often. That’s why I got trained in Childhood Sexual Abuse Prevention and I volunteer with Voice Found.

    I wish that no child in the world would eve be subjected to such horror 😦

    HUGS

  6. It happens in more homes then we will ever know. be strong and leave it in the past x

  7. Alastair Says:

    You are a human … you are worth it …


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

