Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Expelling Pre-job Jitters August 8, 2012


I’m up early because I have my first pre-new-job training meeting today. I looked at the agenda that I received by email and I feel….nauseous…overwhelmed…stupid. Why did I switch jobs? I am really second-guessing myself. Did I really need to add this stress to my life right now? What if I can’t measure up? What if my new coworkers don’t like me and I don’t like them?

I really know it will be fine. It’s just difficult leaving the comfort zone of my previous job that I held for fifteen years. I could sit here and “what if” all day long…but that is not productive. Instead, I’m going to try to face my fears.

Why did I switch jobs? I felt stale, in a rut. I needed a challenge because I get bored easily. I reached the highest level of achievement that I could, so it was time for something new.

Do I really need this stress? I don’t need to add stress to my life, but I was already stressed at my last job. This will be a different type of stress, but it will be no worse than what I already had. After I learn the job, it may be LESS stressful.

What if I can’t measure up? (This is ALWAYS my fear in anything I do). I went through two job interviews to get this job. I faced a panel of EIGHT people and easily answered all of their questions. They all thought I could do it. Worse case scenario: If, after one year I still feel overwhelmed or feel like I don’t measure up, I will go back to the type of job I had before. I will give it one year because that will give me enough time to adjust, learn the job, and get comfortable. I can do anything for one year.

What if my new coworkers don’t like me and I don’t like them? It’s okay if everyone doesn’t like me. Not everyone will. I already know a few people who work there and I like them and they like me. As long as I have one or two people I can laugh with, I will be fine.

This job may be different, but different is good. Change is good. Change means growth, and I believe we all need to keep growing to be the best humans we can be. So, here I go, to my first training session. Here I go, ready to face a new challenge. Here I go, to grow and change and become a better human. Wish me luck!

 

 

6 Responses to “Expelling Pre-job Jitters”

  1. bpshielsy Says:

    Good Luck

  2. carlarenee45 Says:

    Hoping for the best sweety! I pray it is a smooth transition! 😉

  3. Mondrak Says:

    Good luck Rainey. you’ll do fine

  4. Anita S Says:

    I like how you’ve countered your negative self-talk. You go!!!!

  5. backonmyown Says:

    Good luck, Rainey. I predict you will do well in this new position.

  6. I hope it went well!!!!


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

