Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

My Heart July 26, 2012


My heart

is a stone, dropped  into the turbulent rapids

of a raging river

Slammed against unyielding boulders

trampled by sharp, jagged stones

pieces broken and ripped away

never to be seen again

all the other stones leave their mark

on my heart

as we meet, again and again

but now, in the end

my heart

is no longer a stone

it is a pebble

no longer jagged and sharp

but now small,

smooth, rounded and shiny

it doesn’t get caught on jagged stones

it glides by effortlessly because now

my heart

protects itself from all others

my heart

knows how to weather the rapids.

 

8 Responses to “My Heart”

  1. purpleowltree1234 Says:

    This is so beautiful Rainey. I will be reading this again and again. Such wonderful images. Such painful life experiences. It hurts to become a pebble. *caring*
    Love from Rach.

  2. Dorothy Says:

    A wonderful poem and photo. The photo makes me yearn to get out again for some deep woods photography. Hope you’re doing good today.
    Hugs
    Dot

  3. lily Says:

    Beautiful, Rainey. Sad and tested, but optimistic and strong, at the end. ~ Lily

  4. littlesundog Says:

    Absolutely beautiful! You are such a beautiful, still healing soul…


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

