Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Red Shoes: A Song July 13, 2012


I walked along the yellow bricks

until my soles were worn out

met some weird and strange people

but my heart remained filled with doubt.

~

Babe, I’m no longer in Kansas

those fancy red shoes are a lie

I clicked, but ain’t goin nowhere

So I’ll just sit down here and cry.

~

Searching for life’s answers

I ran from home on a stormy day

Not knowing what I wanted

I’ve roamed so very far away.

~

Babe, I’m no longer in Kansas

those fancy red shoes are a lie

I clicked, but ain’t goin nowhere

So I’ll just sit down here and cry.

~

I’ve broadened my horizons

but I’m no closer than before

I’m still looking and searching

there’s got to be something more.

~

Babe, I’m no longer in Kansas

those fancy red shoes are a lie

I clicked, but ain’t goin nowhere

So I’ll just sit down here and cry.

~

Ruby slippers aren’t the answer

there’s no magic left for me

I’ll keep searching this world over

’til it all makes sense to me.

~

Babe, I’m no longer in Kansas

those fancy red shoes are a lie

I clicked, but ain’t goin nowhere

So I’ll just sit down here and cry.

~

Babe, I’m no longer in Kansas

those fancy red shoes are a lie

I clicked, but ain’t goin nowhere

So I’ll just sit down here and cry.

 

Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

