Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

The Creative Addiction June 28, 2012


One of many things on my list of things to do before my new job starts is clean my art studio. Yeah, art studio sounds fancy and professional, right? It’s really just my daughter’s, S, old bedroom converted into a craft room. It is a very small room and at the moment, beyond cluttered. It’s the room I shove everything that I’ve accumulated lately; it’s where I put stuff to do ‘later’.

It was once organized and a fun place to create. Now it just makes me shudder and close the door.

I woke up feeling the itch. If you are a creator, you know what I’m talking about. When the urge to paint, write, make jewelry, draw, or otherwise create hits me it’s like an addiction: I MUST have my fix! Today I knew I had to paint. After two cups of hot, black coffee surging through my body got me up and motivated, I stood in front of the studio door. I took a deep breath, opened the door, and stepped inside. I felt immediately overwhelmed. I panicked and closed the door. Maybe there was something else I could do.

Within fifteen minutes, I found myself back at the door. The urge was too strong, and I had to do something. I couldn’t tackle cleaning that room today, so I compromised. I gathered all my needed supplies and set up an outdoor studio on the back porch. It’s supposed to get blistering hot here today, but I dressed for the heat and set up fans.

Creating is such an important part of me. I hate that I deny myself that outlet just because I get busy or let life get in the way. My art is not great, but it’s part of me and that is enough.

I will post some pictures later. Right now, there is a paint brush and a certain shade of green that is calling me…

P.S. My friend Bird made me laugh today. She applied the recommended Links to her post and they were so random it was hilarious! So, from now on, I plan on applying all the recommended Links  and the Tags because it makes me laugh! Thanks for the idea, Bird!

 

5 Responses to “The Creative Addiction”

  1. Aimer Shama Says:

    It’s my bedroom for me 😀

  2. Hellosailor Says:

    I am jealouse of your paint brush collection 🙂 My pencil collection could rival yours though 😉 xoxo

  3. magicallymad Says:

    Scrolled through the portfolio on here and love it! Hope you have some inspiration this summer!


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

