Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

How to Make a Happiness File June 27, 2012


I love to laugh. Laughter is the fastest way to lift your spirits on a gloomy day. It can also make a good day great! I suffer from situational and clinical depression so much that I look for things that make me laugh …sometimes a giggle, or a chuckle, but the best laugh of all is a deep belly laugh that brings tears to your eyes.

On a bad day, I cannot find laughter. It hides under the wave of depression that, no matter what I do, will not let go of my heart. What normally would make me laugh just makes me feel a sadness so deep it hurts my soul. I am a sensitive person, and usually very upbeat. That makes the sadness and depression that haunts me feel so much deeper and more profound. On those days (weeks), nothing helps except the passage of time.

Today is a good day. It’s not as great as yesterday (a fab day for no reason at all: the best kind) but today feels nice. I’ve had many low days lately, and I know many of my friends in the blogosphere have also had some not-great days in the past few weeks. So today, I’m pulling out  my “Happiness File”.

My Happiness File is just what the name implies; it is a file of things that I have collected that make me happy. Some are silly pictures, or cute animals; others are sayings that I found on the  WWW (World Wide Weird) that made me grin or even laugh.  Anything that lifts me is eligible.

How do you create your own Happiness File, you ask? Why, it is very simple! just follow these steps:

1.Go to the internet and browse, using your favorite method. Sometimes I use search words, go to favorite humor sites, humorous blogs, or just use http://www.stumbleupon.com/home, or join in the PINTEREST craze! (WARNING: BOTH CAN BE ADDICTIVE).

2. When you happen upon something that strikes your funny bone or makes you  ‘AWWW’ at its cuteness factor, save it in a folder on your desktop.

3. MAKE SURE THE FILE IS ON YOUR DESKTOP! This step is crucial to the success of your file. If you bury your Happiness file in your documents folder, on a bad day you will not look for it. It needs to be front and center, where you will see it!

4. Label your folder. I call mine “Shits and Giggles“, but you can label it whatever you like; “Happiness File” works, but it’s a bit boring, don’t you think? 😉

5. On a day when you need a lift, click on your file and enjoy!

6. Don’t forget to add to your file from time to time. It becomes stale and loses some of its punch if  you don’t.

NOTE: I do not include any personal pictures in my file. On some days, when I am really blue, it makes me super sad to look at pictures of happier times with my family. You may feel differently and want to include personal things that bring you joy.

Here are a few of my favorites from my file. I hope one or two make you smile as well!

Gotta love some of those baby pictures out there!

Dogs AND babies?? YES!

Oh, high school math…

or all year, for some…

I would so buy this!

BAHAHAHA!

Have a “Shits and Giggles” day, friends! 😀

 

13 Responses to “How to Make a Happiness File”

  1. Dorothy Says:

    omg….that Barbie doll….something to aspire towards! I want to be that when I grow up!! lol Love you posts!
    I’m awarding you The Sunshine Award and you can get it at my blog if you so desire and I hope you do but it’s up to you. Spread the LOVE!!!
    Dot

  2. We could all benefit from a happiness file! p.s. love the “train” button!

  3. […] jokes, laugh I had so much fun sharing some of my personal Shits and Giggles File (see earlier post here) that I thought I would share a few more. I Hope one or two make you smile or even […]

  4. Pinterest really IS addictive- they should warn you before you join! Love the funnies- thank you x

  5. Brother Jon Says:

    This is really great. When I was dealing with depression I can remember thinking “If I just make myself laugh everything will be better”. It worked, while I was listening, watching, or reading funny things. It got me through. Good idea.

  6. Bird Says:

    lol..The Barbie is my favorite too. Now I really, really want one!! I can relate to this whole post. I don’t have an actual file, but I do look up “funny pictures” on google and that tends to help me most of the time… 🙂

  7. […] Happiness File  (h/t comments at Everyone Has A Story) Share this:TwitterFacebookMorePinterestStumbleUponEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

