Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Dear Daddy: Of Oysters, Soldering Irons, Fishing, and Love June 17, 2012


Alternative versions of Superman

Alternative versions of Superman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dear Daddy,

You were the first man in my life. The good news is you gave me the love and security a young girl needs from her daddy. The bad news is you set the standard high; no other man could ever measure up to you.

My best memories are times you and I spent doing simple things together. I loved the smell of your workshop, and my favorite thing to do was bang around in it. Remember how you used to let me use your soldering iron? I would create mini metal sculptures. You worked on a project while I played around at the workbench; those are great memories, Daddy.

I also remember sounding out a word to you. I was so proud because I had just learned the magic of unlocking the meaning of the sounds of each letter. We were outside a shopping center, waiting for mom to go through the check out line, and I saw the word written on the wall…..F…..U…..C….K….hmmmm….”What does that mean, Daddy?” Your reaction was confusing, but priceless!

I have a secret to tell you. Remember when I was about 9 years old and I started joining you and your buddies when you steamed oysters? The men would sit around drinking beer and swapping stories, and I would hover around the edges. When the oysters where ready, we would take the knives and shuck open the gritty shells. Inside would be the salty, chewy prize that would slide down my throat. My secret is…..I didn’t really like oysters. I simply ate them to spend time with you. You were my wonderful sanctuary from my negative, over-protective mother. I know she meant well, but…well; you know. You lived with her, too.

Remember when I was a teenager and having a really tough time with drugs? You took me to the pier at the ocean to fish. It was the first time we spent alone together since I was a small child. I don’t remember what we talked about, but I remember being so happy to be with you. You were always my Superman, even when I was a lost soul.

You stood by me, Daddy, when I was going through some tough times. You saw me through bad relationships, heavy drinking and drugs, and other assorted tragedies. Even now, when I am a grown-up mother of two adult children, dealing with problems you’d never even heard of, you stand by me. I can always count on my daddy to be the one man in my life who never lets me down.

Much love from your baby girl,

Rainey

 

5 Responses to “Dear Daddy: Of Oysters, Soldering Irons, Fishing, and Love”

  1. moorestorms Says:

    This is very touching…..

  2. kyllingsara Says:

    Reading this gave me chills. Good chills. I am so glad that you have these memories of your dad. It warms my heart to read. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • rainey Says:

      I am glad you enjoyed it and that it gave you a good feeling. There are some good men in this world, Sara. Thank God! 🙂

      • kyllingsara Says:

        Yes, there are some very good men and amongst them my husband. I don’t know what I did right to have him in my life – but I’ll take it! 🙂


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

