Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Moving On June 13, 2012


Today was my last day at the place I worked for the last 13 years. Saying goodbye was more difficult than I expected, and I expected it to be pretty damn hard. I left with tears streaming down my face, but my head held high. I did the best I could here, and I know it is time to venture out. As I said in my last post, change is hard, but much-needed, so I will now move on.

I now have about 6 weeks of vacation time before my new job begins. I plan to work on several little projects, such as painting the bathroom and cleaning the garage. I also plan to get my art studio up and running! I have neglected it for far too long, and I long to create again.

Last, but not least, I plan to go camping again. Last summer I needed some “me” time and I camped in a little campground in the mountains for a month…all alone (with my dogs, of course)! Now, please don’t be mislead; I camped in a small camping trailer with all the amenities of home; roughing it just meant I had to actually walk the dogs instead of just letting them out the back door, and internet service was sketchy. It was great living closer to nature, and the alone time was much-needed.

I don’t think my husband appreciated my need for “alone time” however. He was left here to fend for himself, which he has NEVER done. I thought it was a fabulous idea for him to learn how to wash his own clothes and run the dishwasher. He disagreed, I guess, because he just informed me that he took SEVENTEEN DAYS of vacation time so he could go camping with me this year! I am certain we will not survive that long in a camping trailer alone together without murder being committed, so I don’t know what to do about that yet. I just smiled and said, “Great!” I will cross that bridge when I get to it, I suppose. Until then, I have plenty to keep me busy.

 

One Response to “Moving On”

  1. Enjoy your month and a half! You deserve it ~


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

