Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

I Will Not be Seen on Hoarders August 6, 2012


Closet #2

Closet #2 (Photo credit: lonecellotheory)

Today I felt completely overwhelmed. I decided to go work a little in my office at my new job (it officially starts August 17). I have stacks of  papers, books, and other materials left by the former employee that I am responsible for sorting and organizing. My job is to have it ready for the other employees as they need it. It was a total mess! The previous employee became sick and had been out for almost a year, and it was obvious that others had come and borrowed materials, never bothering to return things to its proper place. Plus, I had my boxes from my last job in storage that I had to move to my new office. Right now the room looks like an episode of “Hoarders” gone wild!

What I wanted to do is sit down and cry. Since that would only serve to make the books and papers damp (and who wants damp books and papers?) I decided to do the only thing I know to do: take pictures and plan. First, I moved everything that I needed into the room. As I did, I grouped like objects together. I then grabbed my camera and took pictures of every stack and every piece of furniture. I made sure to include pictures of the walls and built-in cabinets as well. After taking the pictures, I turned out the light and walked out. Being there without a plan made me anxious and I knew I would not be productive.

Now that I am home, I can use the pictures to figure out the best way to organize the piles of materials. I feel much calmer now that I have a plan of action!

Oh, also, I did something else productive yesterday….I completly cleaned and organized my walk-in closet (Which, by the way, WOULD have qualified me for “Hoarders”).  Yea, me! It feels so good to have that done. I threw out tons of stuff I haven’t worn in years, and I have a huge pile to give to charity. I like things clean and well-organized, so this makes me feel very happy!

I feel quite productive right now! If only I had money, I could go buy clothes to put in that almost empty closet…

 

3 Responses to “I Will Not be Seen on Hoarders”

  1. purpleowltree1234 Says:

    You rock!! :) Yay you!!
    One of my least favourite things is organising papers. I feel sorry for you.
    Just think how great you will feel when it’s all organised!! And it sounds like you are *more* than capable of organising things! :)
    Rach.

  2. lily Says:

    Being disorganized makes me feel anxious, too. In a world in which we can control so little, organization feels good. Great job on the closet! I like your office approach and method, and how you did what you could then removed yourself. I can relate : ) ~ Lily

  3. Dorothy Says:

    Great for you!! I recently did that job too but wasn’t able to completely empty the closet…at least you have an empty closet you can hide in!!


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 791 other followers