Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Poetry, Paintings, and Ponderings: Through My Eyes

Who Am I? August 5, 2012


Who am I?

i am empathetic

~for animals and children, who need our love and devotion

~for broken humans, who are suffering in so many ways

~for elderly, who have lived and loved and become frail

i am liberal

~i believe equal rights mean equal for all

~i judge by who you are, not what you are

~i think all people should have the rights of all others

i am a survivor

~of childhood molestation

~of interior, self-inflicted wounds

~of life and all its curves

i am a mother

~my daughters will always come first

~my girls live in my heart wherever they may be

~my heart breaks every time they hurt

i am a creator

~of words that, together, come alive on a page

~of pictures i paint with film or acrylics

~of objects created of metal, glass and other beauties

i am a lover

~of animals and nature

~of music that feeds my soul with rhythm and words

~of my dogs, who quiet my restless soul

i am a hater

~of self, for things i cannot yet forgive

~of ignorant, bigoted people who spew hateful words at others

~of explantions molded to fit one view only

i am imperfect

~i hide from the truth when it hurts too much

~i pretend i’m okay when i’m not at all

~i lie to fit in and be safe in the group

i am a beast

~when you harm someone i love

~when your hatred turns against the helpless

~when i’m pushed into a corner, i come out swinging

i am so many things.

i am all of this and much, much more.

i am Rainey.

 

12 Responses to “Who Am I?”

  1. purpleowltree1234 Says:

    You are truly beautiful, Rainey. It is an honour to be getting to walk with you as you travel your road. Thank you for letting us in.
    Love from your friend Rach.

  2. Mondrak Says:

    Thank you for sharing so many things about you :-)

  3. Anita S Says:

    I really like this! Simple yet eloquent description of yourself, with a lot of honesty. Even though you mention hating yourself, I feel you are (mostly) allowing yourself to go through the process and to let that be enough.

  4. lily Says:

    Rainey, reading this I can only think: anyone would be lucky to have you as a friend. Even what you think of as imperfect just seems Human. You are wonderful. Thinking of you ~ Lily

  5. And what a wonderful person you are

  6. Dorothy Says:

    I agree with everyone, you’re wonderful!


Please leave a message after the beep....{BEEP}

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers